Bach Interactions: A Dynamic Performance & Learning Experience

About the Series

Nine virtual programs offer some of the finest works in the cantata and oratorio repertory. You’ll enjoy the Washington Bach Consort as you’ve never heard them before, but you’ll also gain revelations and insights into the music itself coming from our two resident Bach scholars, Michael Marissen and Daniel R. Melamed. Supported in part by grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the J. Reilly Lewis Legacy Fund, Bach Interactions is a new digital concert experience offering the expressive heights of Bach’s musical language as well as the story behind its creation.

The series features three renowned cantatas, Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 140, Aus der Tiefen rufe ich, Herr, zu dir, BWV 131, and Nun komm der Heiden Heiland, BWV 61, followed by all six parts of Bach’s beloved Christmas Oratorio, BWV 248.  Each part will be presented on its intended day of liturgical observance, over the twelve days of Christmas to the Feast of the Epiphany (January 6).

Bach Interactions Logo

Christmas Oratorio
Part VI: The Feast of the Epiphany

Streamed Event:
Wednesday, January 6, 2021 at 8 p.m. on YouTube & Facebook

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)
Herr, wenn die stolzen Feinde schnauben, BWV 248/VI

Michael Marissen

Daniel R. Melamed


Margot Rood

Matthew Hill
tenor (Evangelist)

David Rugger

David Rugger

Geoffrey Burgess
oboe d’amore

Meg Brown Owens

Margaret Owens
oboe d’amore


Katelyn Aungst & Margot Rood*, sopranos; Roger O. Isaacs & Sarah Davis Issaelkhoury, altos; Matthew Hill & Patrick Kilbride, tenors; David Rugger* & Jason Widney, basses

Andrew Fouts† & Tatiana Chulochnikova, violins; Risa Browder, viola; John Moran, violoncello; Jessica Powell Eig, violone; Geoffrey Burgess* Margaret Owens*, oboes & oboes d’amore; Anna Marsh, bassoon; Josh CohenJoelle MonroeDennis Anthony Ferry, trumpets; Michelle Humphreys, timpani; Leon Schelhase, harpsichord; Adam Pearl, organ